Carrots, Water Chestnuts, Broccoli, Oh My.

Hi Everyone.

Okay, so I have a lot to update you on about the fitness and eating plan. I’ve been doing great so far. How is it going for you? Please let me know! Anyways, I have been trying new things a lot lately which is actually fun and exciting! Yesterday, as I said in my last post, my mama came downtown and when we went to lunch I decided to try something I never have before and ordered a turkey burger…DELICIOUS! I cannot believe I haven’t ventured as far as a turkey burger! (piece of advice: when you’re eating any type of burger, remove one half of the bun. This way you still get a bit of the amazing bread, but not as much and it probably cuts the cals in half!) So the turkey burger was amazing and it came with this yogurt dill sauce which just added to the scrumptiousness of it. I was so glad I finally tried this and it’s a brand new healthy option for me, and maybe for you too! Secondly, I just have to rave about the dinner I just had. First of all, if you’re looking for healthy but still yummy options, go to Trader Joe’s. If you’re a college student and making a lot of your own meals, they have so many healthy frozen options that are SO easy to make! I highly recommend their Sweet Teriyaki Glaze frozen chicken. I just had it and it was delicious. I also want you guys to realize how HORRIBLE I am at eating veggies. I’ll have the occasional helping of broccoli, I do love avocado, but that may even be considered a fruit, and sometimes some corn in the summertime. That’s basically the extent of my vegetable palette. But I decided that if I was going to do this, I needed to extend that. So I bought a frozen pack of veggies with broccoli, baby corn (which I actually love), water chestnuts, carrots, and more. I cooked it with a little bit of oil, and can I just tell you how much I thoroughly enjoyed it with my chicken?! Oh my goodness, I am in shock. I’m sure my family is too. But the point of me telling you this, is if you are a picky patty like me, try opening your mind and taste buds and trying some new stuff. You may end up really liking it, and it’ll be another healthy option you can add to your list! Having options makes eating healthier so much easier, because you won’t get tired of eating the same old things!

 Mom, Dad, are you fainting?

On to working out…I am so happy because I realized that there is internet downstairs in my building, so I brought my laptop down with me and used the recumbent bike (the one you sit on with a back) and watched an episode of lost (45 minutes.) Not just any episode, but the season 5 finale! As I was biking, I was wiping away tears and some lady was looking at me from outside like I was absolutely crazy. Watching a TV show you are invested in makes the time FLY. I highly suggest this. It will make working out so much easier and less of a chore. I also found this GREAT website for body toning techniques. There is a cartoon drawing of a woman and you can pick different spots on her body that you want to focus on. Click on wherever it is, and it will give you a ton of exercises that will target that specific spot. I worked on my thighs. I did the “small dog”-can feel it working like crazy, and the “inner thigh sculptor”-also really amazing. Try these and know that your thighs are being sculpted! Did anyone try those ab exercises from the other day? My obliques are still sore! Soreness=success! Please let me know how your fitness and eating plans are going! I would LOVE to hear.

http://www.divine.ca/en/fitness-and-nutrition/exercise-finder/c_266/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:15:22

    Trader Joes has the best cook books I just bought one on Amazon. I also noticed a cook book from Trader Joes for college students. Check it out. Good job kiddo!! xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

