Reached your plateau? Don’t worry, I have too.

Two weeks ago today was when I posted my first entry and began my fitness plan. I’ve already reached the dreaded plateau…anyone else with me? Starting it up can just be so hard. I do really well with fitness and eating for a few days and then I’m with friends who make a delicious pizza and offer me spinach artichoke dip…(you know who you are) and it all goes to crap. But don’t give in that easily! Just because you have one bad day of eating, or even one bad meal does not mean that it’s okay to just give up, however, in the words of one of my best friends, Jana Shapiro, “Life is not a dress rehearsal.” It’s okay to have that piece of pizza, or some cookies with fondue. Deprivation will just hurt you in the end, however, every day, and every meal is a new chance for you to eat right and make a great decision. So as the New Year gets even closer, I am sticking to my goals and pushing through the plateau. Make it all about the long term goals. The thing that keeps me going, is thinking about how badly I want to look good and most importantly, feel comfortable in a bathing suit over spring break. I also, want to see that goal weight on the scale, so I keep going. But don’t let your long term goals overwhelm you. Saying to yourself, “I want to loose 20 pounds” and expecting it to be gone in 2 weeks is unrealistic and disappointing, so take it one week, one day, one hour, at a time if you need to, and you’ll be much better off. Visual goals really help me and they might help you too. As weird as it sounds, hang a bikini up in your room and next time you head to the freezer for some ice cream, you may think twice. Even hang up pictures of yourself as you make progress. I took a picture of myself today two weeks after my start, and will do it again two weeks from today. This way, I can track my progress and feel proud of myself for all of the hard work I’ve put in. My endurance is already a lot better since my day one run, and I’m taking less frequent/shorter breaks. I’ve started doing weights again after my shoulder surgery this summer and it feels fantastic! I also ripped some Jillian Michaels exercises out of Self magazine, and plan on trying them out! Always keep your eyes open for new routines or snacks that can help you stay motivated and help bring out those results. Please let me know how you guys are doing with your eating and fitness, and remember to just push through that Plateau. Every day is a new day.

One of the pictures from her spread in Self. Her body alone is great motivation!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Alex Krantz
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 06:38:51

    Loved this entry…explain more what you mean by the expression “life is not a dress rehearsal” please 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

